Utopia or Game Changer? Artificial Intelligence for Climate-neutral Cities
Bildung Event

Utopia or Game Changer? Artificial Intelligence for Climate-neutral Cities

Venue:
Climate Change Center Berlin
Brandenburg c/o ECDF
Wilhelmstraße 67
10117 Berlin

Saturday 17 June 2023, 5-11 pm

Utopia or Game Changer? Artificial Intelligence for Climate-neutral Cities

The climate crisis and digitalisation are both megatrends of the 21st century whose development will be decisive for the future of humanity. How can we make our lives in the Berlin and Brandenburg region more climate-neutral and how can artificial intelligence help? The Climate Change Centre Berlin Brandenburg deals with these and other climate-related questions and supports projects on various topics such as construction, energy, mobility and nutrition. A selection of these projects will be presented at the Long Night of Science and discussed with visitors.

Picture: Josephine Hintz mit DALLE

Program

Utopia or Game Changer I Audiovisuelle Installation von Josephine Hintz, TU Berlin/MCC Berlin

In the audiovisual installation “Utopia or Game Changer”, you will hear statements from people from all over Europe who use artificial intelligence for climate-relevant work tasks. How can artificial intelligence help tackle the climate crisis? What are current examples of applications that help cities reduce emissions? We explore answers to these questions with the perspective of pioneers working for cities across Europe.
Find out how AI can help reduce energy consumption in buildings or optimise waste collection. We invite you to explore the early days of using AI to tackle one of the most pressing challenges of our time.

The installation is based on Josefine Hintz’s research as part of her doctorate at TU Berlin under Prof Dr Felix Creutzig, scientific coordinator of the Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg and Prof Dr Lynn Kaack, Hertie School (funded by the Heinrich Böll Foundation).

Josephine Hintz will be on site between 6 and 8 pm.

These two CCC-funded research projects will also be presenting themselves:

• Mobility Dashboard, TU Berlin

• Energy, climate and environmental policy in capital/metropolitan regions, Centre Marc Bloch

And there will be a climate quiz for all visitors.

Birgit Holthaus

Contact

Birgit Holthaus
Referentin für Pressearbeit und Wissenschaftskommunikation

Utopia oder Game Changer? Künstliche Intelligenz für klimaneutrale Städte
Bildung Event

Utopia oder Game Changer? Künstliche Intelligenz für klimaneutrale Städte

Veranstaltungsort:
Climate Change Center Berlin
Brandenburg c/o ECDF
Wilhelmstraße 67
10117 Berlin

Samstag, 17. Juni, 17:00-23:00 Uhr

Utopia oder Game Changer? Künstliche Intelligenz für klimaneutrale Städte

Die Klimakrise und die Digitalisierung sind beides Megatrends des 21. Jahrhunderts, deren Entwicklung entscheidend für die Zukunft der Menschheit sein wird. Wie können wir unser Leben in der Region Berlin und Brandenburg klimaneutraler gestalten und wie kann künstliche Intelligenz dabei helfen? Mit dieser und weiteren klimabezogenen Fragen beschäftigt sich das Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg und fördert Projekte zu unterschiedlichen Themen, wie Bauen, Energie, Mobilität und Ernährung. Eine Auswahl dieser Projekte wird bei der Langen Nacht der Wissenschaft vorgestellt und mit den Besucher*innen diskutiert.

Bild: Josephine Hintz mit DALLE

Programm

Utopia or Game Changer I Audiovisuelle Installation von Josephine Hintz, TU Berlin/MCC Berlin

Bei der audiovisuellen Installation „Utopia or Game Changer“ hören Sie Aussagen von Menschen aus ganz Europa, die Künstliche Intelligenz bei klimarelevanten Arbeitsaufgaben einsetzen. Wie kann Künstliche Intelligenz bei der Bewältigung der Klimakrise unterstützen? Was sind aktuelle Beispiele für Anwendungen, die Städten helfen, Emissionen zu reduzieren? Wir untersuchen Antworten auf diese Fragen mit der Perspektive von Pionieren, die für Städte in ganz Europa arbeiten.
Erfahren Sie, wie KI helfen kann, den Energieverbrauch in Gebäuden zu senken oder die Müllabfuhr zu optimieren. Wir laden Sie dazu ein, die Anfänge des Einsatzes von KI zur Bewältigung einer der dringendsten Herausforderungen unserer Zeit zu erkunden.

Die Installation basiert auf der Forschung von Josefine Hintz im Rahmen ihrer Promotion an der TU Berlin bei Prof. Dr. Felix Creutzig, wissenschaftlicher Koordinator des Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg und Prof. Dr. Lynn Kaack, Hertie School (gefördert von der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung).

Josephine Hintz ist zwischen 18:00 und 20:00 Uhr vor Ort.

Außerdem präsentieren sich diese beiden vom CCC geförderten Forschungsprojekte:

• Mobility Dashboard, TU Berlin

• Energie-, Klima- und Umweltpolitik in Hauptstadt-/Metropolregionen, Centre Marc Bloch

Und es gibt für alle Besucher*innen ein Klimaquiz.

Birgit Holthaus

Kontakt

Birgit Holthaus
Referentin für Pressearbeit und Wissenschaftskommunikation